Lower Pioneer Valley Educational Collaborative (LPVEC)

The Lower Pioneer Valley Educational Collaborative, organized in 1974, is a group of seven school districts. The member school districts are: Agawam, East Longmeadow, Hampden-Wilbraham Regional, Longmeadow, Ludlow, Southwick-Tolland-Granville Regional, and West Springfield. The primary purpose of the LPVEC is to expand the quality of education in the member school districts. Basic to the Collaborative's efforts is the premise that there are numerous educational services which can be provided more effectively and efficiently by pooling the resources and students from several school districts.

Programs Available

Moderate-to-Severe Autism Programs: Elementary, Middle, and High School

The Autism Programs are designed for students with moderate to severe Autism and other related disabilities who may require physical assistance, personal care assistance and/or medical care.

Transitional Alternative Program (TAP)

The TAP program provides temporary instructional and counseling support, as needed, for students who are suspended from their current school or transitioning between educational placements.

Twain Program

The Twain Program is designed for students with social/emotional and behavior disorders. The program focuses on developing skills related to self-awareness, self-management, responsible decision making, social awareness, and relationship building.

Vocational Preparation Program

This program is designed for students with moderate delays in cognitive ability. It provides a half day of functional academics and a half day of vocational skills training either in a vocational educational program or in a community job placement.